My Summer Reading Update

September 3, 2016

Summer Reads - Hayley From Home

Looking at this photo I realise I didn’t go for the most light-hearted of books to read this summer, neither did I read as many as I thought I might, however I thoroughly enjoyed them all. I had a huge list to be read over summer and then I added to it even further after my birthday but in the end I just picked up whatever I fancied, which turned out to be a lot of young adult fiction. I now have a pretty stacked reading pile going into Autumn and there is nothing wrong with that.

A Man Called Ove – Fredrik Backman

I loved, loved, loved this book. I’ve had a few people tell me they have it in their reading piles waiting to be read and if this is you please pick it up and read it immediately. At the start we are introduced to a seemingly grumpy old man, Ove and the story alternates between his present and his past and all the people he has met along to way. It is such a heart warming story and right from the start I was laughing out loud then welling up a few moments later. It reminded me a little of The Rosie Project as we see things from Ove’s point of view with his unwavering logic. It is a simple love story that made me grateful for all those around me, such a delightful book.

A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

I’ve been wanting to read this for a while – it will soon be coming out as a movie and I always like to try and read the book before I see the film. I was expecting great things, Patrick Ness is such an amazing writer – it is only short but it is incredibly beautiful and moving. I don’t want to give too much away of the story but it follows a teenage boy as he comes to terms with his Mother’s cancer although it is so much more than that.  It’s set in the modern world but it has a feel of a fairytale and it stays with you long after you’ve finished reading it.

All The Bright Places – Jennifer Niven

I bought this on a whim and then wasn’t too sure I wanted to read it. The quote of the front says it’s for fans of The Fault In Our Stars and I always find that I love books like that when I’m reading them but they’re so tragic that you know from the start they will break you heart. Still, I picked it up this summer and I’m glad I did. I loved the characters and I read the whole thing in two days; I feel it puts into words something that is so difficult to explain and covers depression and suicide in a way maybe some people won’t have thought about before. I’m not sure it would ever be one of my favourite books but an definitely an important one to read.

The Lie Tree – Frances Hardinge

This was a recommendation from someone on Instagram and I’m so glad I went for it as it’s just my kind of thing. It’s probably aimed at young teenagers but I loved that it was written from a 14 year old girl’s perspective and we can tell how unsatisfied she is with the role of women in 1868 when the book is set. Although it was slow to get going I really loved the way it was written and the way she set the scene; it’s quite dark and gothic. The story picks up all of a sudden and then I couldn’t read it fast enough. It’s part mystery, part thriller, part fantasy and a great read.

The Muse – Jessie Burton

The Miniaturist was one of my favourite reads from last year so I was eager to read this latest book from Jessie Burton. It took me a while to get into it but part way through I was hooked.  I liked how it switched stories always keeping you wanting a little more. It is obviously well thought out and researched, I found I was really intrigued by the characters and got totally swept up in the story. However, I was a little disappointed with the end, only a little as it seemed a bit rushed and there was more I wanted to know. Overall though I loved it, she’s a great writer.

Hopefully I’ll find time to read a little more over the next couple of months and I’ll do an update about what’s in my Autumn reading pile. I’d love to hear what books you’ve been enjoying and if you’ve read any of these.

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply